Indian Premier League [IPL]- All Details

IPL2022-2023 | History of IPL | IPL List 2022 | T20 IPL List | Tomorrow IPL | Super Kings IPL Result | Men IPL 2022 | Women IPL 2022 | Sports IPL 2022 | IPL media rights auction | IPL 2021 | IPL Cricket | IPL t20 | Live cricket IPL

The Indian Premier League, also officially known as IPL. The IPL [ Indian Premier League], is a professional cricket league based on a twenty-twenty format. Because of the shortened game and much more entertainment than the usual ODI or Test format cricket. IPL was quite a success. The league has been elected every year by franchise teams representing Indian cities and states. IPL is the place where newcomers are given a chance to showcase their talent to the world leading to their potential selection into the national squad.

IPL indian premier league

History of IPL (Indian premier league)

IPL was launched by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) in 2007. Lalit Modi was the first chairman of the IPL as well as the vice president of BCCI. IPL’s first match was held on 18th April 2008. The day that started the revolution of franchise cricket all across the globe as the Indian Premier League commenced with Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challenger Bangalore featuring in the inaugural match. There have been fifteen seasons of the IPL tournament.

IPL Teams of 2022 and their Caption

1. Mumbai Indians Rohit Sharma
2. Royal Challengers Bangalore Faf du plessis
3. Chennai Super Kings MS Dhoni
4. Kolkata Knight Rider Shreyas Iyer
5. Sunrisers Hyderabad Kane Williamson
6. Delhi Capitals Rishabh Pant
7. Rajasthan Royals Sanju Samson
8. Punjab Kings Mayank Agarwal
9. Lucknow Super Giants KL Rahul
10. Gujrat Titans Hardik Pandya

IPL cup winners and their finalist

2008Rajasthan Royals (Shane Warne)Chennai Super Kings
2009Deccan Chargers (Adam Gilchrist)Royal Challenger Bangalore
2010Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Mumbai Indians
2011Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Royal Challenger Bangalore
2012Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir)Chennai Super Kings
2013Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight Riders (Gautam Gambhir)Kings XI Punjab
2015Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad (David Warner)Royal Challenger Bangalore
2017Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Rising Pune Supergiants
2018Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Sunrisers Hyderabad
2019Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Chennai Super Kings
2020Mumbai Indians (Rohit Sharma)Delhi Capitals
2021Chennai Super Kings (MS Dhoni)Kolkata Knight Riders
2022Gujrat Titans (Hardik Pandya)Rajasthan Royals

Some Highlights

  • Highest Run Scorer Batsman in IPL – Virat Kohli (6411 runs)
  • Highest Wicket taker Bowler in IPL- Dwayne Bravo (183 wickets)
  • Highest Sixes by Batsman in IPL History- Chris Gayle (357 sixes)
  • Mumbai Indians is the most successful team in the IPL history, having won five times while the Chennai Super Kings won the trophy four times.

IPL as a Business Model

IPL’s strong business strategy is not just depending on ticket sales. They make big because they have many additional sources of income through which they can support themselves. The IPL tournament franchise has become a major business asset.

Media Rights

The media rights that BCCI sells to broadcasters bring in a lot of money for the organization. In 2017, Star India spent 16,347 crores to secure IPL broadcasting rights for a five-year period. This equates to about 60 crores for every IPL match. BCCI shares these media rights with all 10 teams.


Sponsorship is the most important source of income for the IPL franchise. If we look at any IPL team’s uniform we can see different brand logos. The logo on the player’s jersey and the advertisement on the boundary ropes among other things. These brand businesses pay the team big money to promote their brands.

Ticket Sales / Gate Revenue

Ticket sales revenue is one of the most important sources of income for IPL. Ticket sales are anticipated to account for 15% of the total revenue generated by IPL franchises. They depend a lot on this source of income.

IPL Prize Money

IPL prize money is another source of income for IPL franchises. Teams are awarded prize money based on their position in the points table. Winner: The winning team will get a cash prize of ₹20 crores from BCCI for becoming the champions of IPL. Runners-up: The other finalist will receive ₹13 crores from BCCI for finishing in the second position. Third place: The team which lost Qualifier 2(RCB) will be given a cash prize of ₹7 crores by BCCI. The prize money for the IPL is allocated in this manner.

Player Trading

Every year, at the IPL auction a transfer window is provided for a set amount of time. teams are allowed to exchange players with other franchises during this trade window. This means that talented players are traded for good ones with some money as compensation.

The popularity of IPL/ Success of IPL

  • Great top Notch player- IPL’s popularity is that some of the greatest players on the earth come to play in the league which makes the tournament more special as people love to watch the world’s best players competing against each other.
  • Money- One of the big reasons is the money invested by multiple people in the IPL. There is a very huge amount of money invested in players, teams, and arrangements that attract the people and players.
  • Highest Viewed Tournament- One of the major reasons of all is that IPL gets viewed most among all the other leagues in the segment. Millions of the people watch the IPL matches which are higher than in any other league.
  • IPL has shattered TV viewership records in India and has consistently been ranked in the top 10 world’s most popular sporting events. The tournament had seen a steep rise in TV viewership in the last two seasons, as the COVID-19 pandemic forced the fan to stay indoors.

Leave a Comment